15
Jan
08

NYC Sept 2008

My husband had never been to NYC, so we went because I was craving some good pork buns and ramen. Usually our first stop immediately off the plane is Momofuku, but having not been the NYC in a couple years, some new restaurants popped up, one being Ippudo.

Ippudo is a well known chain in Japan, but this is their first restaurant in the U.S. Ting, my good friend, did the gracious service of keeping me updated with her knowledge of the noodle scene and we ate there first.

As soon as you walk in, the chefs that are visible behind the really long counter spanning half the restaurant yell a greeting at you in Japanese. It’s humorous watching how people react to the very audible but uninterpreted yells.

The decor is modern NYCand we sat at a large booth providing a great view of the entire restaurant. You could see the chefs working behind the counter, but not what they were doing. I trip to the bathroom led me past a door ajar with a view to a noodle machine and parts. The thing looked like a xerox machine but I couldn’t get a good glimpse.

We compared their pork buns to Momofuku’s:

They were good, different, but not AS good as the Mo. They added Japanese mayo to it, which threw the texture and taste off. The pork wasn’t as good as the fatty Berkshire. I’d still eat 50 of them.

The pork ramen was delicious. I think the actual noodle is better than Momofuku’s. The broth was great- not too salty. The pork was cooked well, just not the fatty Berkshire that I’m addicted to. I also would still eat 50 of these:

I know it’s modern, but it was odd to me that they didn’t have a noodle bar you could sit at. This was the closest thing to the relationship you have rubbing elbows with a stranger and slurping loudly.

I did all of the touristy things over again, but this time I knew where I was going

I know we went back to Momofuku. I’ll try to remember more of where we ate on this trip…
0 Responses to “NYC Sept 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

